Skip to main content

Five University of Maryland faculty have been newly chosen as fellows by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of journals such as Science. The title recognizes important contributions to STEM disciplines, including pioneering research, leadership within a given field, teaching and mentoring, fostering collaborations and advancing public understanding of science.

The awardees are:

  • Charles Delwiche (Biological Sciences): For distinguished contributions to molecular systematics, particularly algal evolution and biodiversity. 
  • George Helz (Geology and Geography): In recognition of outstanding research, leadership, innovation, teaching and service to the community in aqueous and environmental geochemistry. 
  • William Lau (Atmospheric and Hydrospheric Sciences): For profound contributions to the understanding of atmospheric low-frequency oscillations, monsoon dynamics, aerosol-monsoon interaction, and hydroclimate variability and change, through original data analysis and modeling. 
  • Colin Phillips (Linguistics and Language Science): For outstanding contributions to psycholinguistics, advocacy for Linguistics and Language Science, superior mentorship and teaching, and a vision of what linguistic education should be. 
  • William Regli (Information, Computing and Communication): For his work at the interface between science and government, primarily at the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency. 


Published  Maryland Today